Disney Marathon Training Week 4: 9/6-9/13

This week was a cut-back training week.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 11.02.37 AMTotal Miles:  9.17

I did not do well incorporating cross-training into this week!

Sunday 9/6:  Rest Day

Spent a rainy day at the Isle of Palms, but at least we got a few dry hours to spend on the beach.

IMG_4230 IMG_4231 IMG_4232

Monday 9/7: Rest Day

I had planned to run at the beach today, but was feeling extra stiff and sore from sleeping on the pull-out bed.  Not to mention heaviness from eating unhealthy food.  It was another rainy day, so I packed up the kids and drove back home.

Tuesday 9/8: 30 minute run in neighborhood

I felt SO slow, so stiff.  It was not a good run at all!  I resolve to get back on track with my eating habits.  Ugh!!

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.13.20 AM

Wednesday 9/9:  Rested

I wanted to run 2 miles and do barre class but I felt terrible today!  Exhausted, sick, sleepy.  I decided to rest one more day.  I wonder if it’s because of my long run on Friday?  My body hasn’t run that long in months and months.  It began to pour down rain later.  I had to drive through the torrential downpour to get my daughter from preschool, then get in the car line to pick up my son.  He normally walks home, but the school’s weather policy kicked in so he wasn’t allowed to walk home.  It took 35 minutes for me to get him in that car line…

IMG_4242 IMG_4244

Thursday 9/10:  30 minute run in neighborhood

I took a different route around my neighborhood, which did mean a few more hills, but it was nice to go a different way.  I finally felt normal again, and had a good run!

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.13.40 AMLook how different my average pace is from my terrible run Tuesday!  I ran at the same effort level for both.  Not every run is a good run, but they are all training your body.

Friday 9/11:  Rest Day

Working on my volunteer obligations, doing some household business, and generally planning what we are doing this weekend.  I’d like the kids and my husband to nail some stuff, build some things in the garage.  E needs a hands-on outlet to tear apart and build things, and I want M to learn that girls can certainly do that stuff too.

Saturday 9/12:  4 mile step back run

For the first time in race training, I’m actually following Jeff Galloway’s step-back weeks.  The long-runs happen only every other week, and in between you run a shorter “long-run” of 4-6 miles.  This is supposed to reduce wear and tear during training.

I decided to drive to downtown Greenville and run the Swamp Rabbit Trail, mostly because I could easily get a Starbucks afterwards as a reward.  The people watching here this morning was epic.  Lots and lots of runners, walkers, and cyclists.  Many people clearly doing their fall marathon training.  It was great weather, not too hot or muggy, cloudy.  Just a nice run.  I felt really great too!

IMG_4250

The Reedy River at Riverwalk across from the Peace Center

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 10.53.24 AMMy average pace looks pretty good for a 4-miler.  I didn’t try very hard to get negative splits since this was a shorter run…but I actually achieved it!

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 10.56.23 AMAfterwards, I cooled down with a short walk to Starbucks on Main Street (yes, one guy did stare at me walking in all sweaty…but nobody else gave me even a first glance, much less a second).

IMG_4251

Reward! Don’t worry, non-fat latte, no sugar or syrup

This could be considered a good recovery drink?  It’s milk, right?  Protein, carbs.

The rest of the weekend was great.  I was so thankful for fall weather on Sunday!

Wrigley loves fall!

Wrigley loves fall!

Fall mums!

Fall mums!

How did your training go this week?

Leave a Reply

