Disney Marathon Training Week 5: 9/14-9/20

Screen Shot 2015-09-23 at 11.56.07 AM

Total Miles:  14.88

Cross Training:  1 day (barre)

Monday 9/14:  30 minute maintenance run

Wow, the weather was fresh today!  I considered a long-sleeved shirt for a second, but I knew I wouldn’t be chilly for long.  Blue skies, fall weather:  the perfect running day.

IMG_4260

I ran a slightly different route, incorporating some of my route from a run last week.  I ran mostly on streets surrounding my neighborhood.  I’m lucky that many of the streets leading from my neighborhood have sidewalks that extend for miles.  I don’t always enjoy running here because the sound of traffic isn’t exactly peaceful, but it gets the job done.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 11.13.25 AMLook at those beautiful negative splits!  Can’t wait to run in more weather like this.

Tuesday 9/15  Barre Class

I actually wore my heart rate monitor during this class.  I have worn it during previous classes and discovered I burn around 200 calories (interesting since many barre fitness studios claim up to 500 calories).  You need to be careful with HRM calorie burns because you should subtract the calories you would’ve burned anyway, just by being alive, for that amount of time (Basal Metabolic Rate calculator).  Take your BMR and divide it by 24.  I take that as an educated guess.  So for me, I could burn anywhere from 50-60 calories an hours just by lying on my bed.

So that 200 calorie burn for an hour of barre class?  More like around 150.  Which doesn’t make the exercise I do in that class useless!  Far from it!  The strength exercises in the class don’t burn anywhere near what I burn running, but the value of the strength gains I get is high.

I didn’t feel like I got as much of a cardio workout in the class as I normally do, but my glutes were on fire.  So I got something out of it.Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 11.51.09 AMWednesday 9/16 30 minute maintenance run in downtown Greenville

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 11.53.06 AM

Love this cooler weather!

Thursday 9/17 Rest Day

Friday 9/18 9 mile long run

I decided to try run/walk intervals for this run to see if my recovery would go easier.  I felt like I was a bit too destroyed by my 7 mile run two weeks ago, and it shouldn’t have been so hard to recover.

I set my Garmin to 2:30/0:50 run/walk intervals.  This is very easy to do; then it beeps when you need to run or walk (giving you some warning beeps too, so you have time to get over).  It becomes a fairly automatic response after a while.  During the walk, I did not speed walk,  I walked at a normal pace.  I was afraid trying to walk too quickly would cause me to overextend my knees and cause pain.

I ran downtown on the Swamp Rabbit Trail.  It is significantly less crowded on weekdays than on weekends.  It’s nice to do my longer runs on Fridays because it allows me more weekend time with my family.

I warmed up for a little more than 1/3 of a mile, walking, then jogging a bit.

Screen Shot 2015-09-23 at 11.48.23 AM

"Swamp Rabbit"

“Swamp Rabbit”

I wore my heart rate monitor this time...and it chafed and cut up my chest in the middle where the strap is!  Ugh!

I wore my heart rate monitor this time…and it chafed and cut up my chest in the middle where the strap is! Ugh!

My pace clearly shows the intervals.  The longer intervals or more frequent ones you see are when I had to cross roads.

My pace clearly shows the intervals. The longer intervals or more frequent ones you see are when I had to cross roads.

IMG_4277

Done!

Done!

Saturday 9/19 Rest Day

Was able to go to the Saturday Market downtown.  Saw the Clemson cheerleaders!

IMG_4295

Sunday 9/20 Rest Day

Extra rest day because tomorrow starts Tone It Up’s Fit For Fall Challenge!

Leave a Reply

